Ugly Secrets Behind Jelly Bars, Candy Bars and Fruitellas

Do you know where your fruitellas, jelly bars, and candies come from? You get the chewy feel, isn’t it? It is so much fun. The hidden ingredient is gelatin. It is pretty much an animal-based secretion. Let us read on to know more about how it is being done!

Know-how on the process

Gelatin is very much an animal-derived protein. You obtain this product by boiling the tendons, ligaments, skin, bones, or cartilage of cows and pigs in water. When these animals are slaughtered, their carcasses are usually sold by slaughter vendors to manufacturing companies. Normally, when their body parts are boiled in water, it leaves behind a thick and chewy element. This is where your gelatin actually comes from.


Gelatin becomes the main binding ingredient that is commonly used while making cakes, pastries, candy bars, marsh mellows, ice creams, yogurts, or even across the capsules of multi-vitamin tablets. 


What do manufacturers do while marketing their products or labels?

Food manufacturing brands or labels are not going to tell you their ugly secrets that go into the making, while these commonly used food products are being designed at their factory outlets. As more and more animal activists are coming to the spotlight, manufacturers now hide the ingredient behind the term ‘Emulsifiers or 

antioxidants’. It is E 361 or E-Coli that is printed on the back of labels or main ingredient lists. E-Coli is again the cartilage tissues of slaughtered dairy cows that are ground under the machines. If you find this ingredient at the back of food labels or brands, you can rest assured that the product is not a vegan or even a vegetarian product. It is gelatin which is an animal secretion in a distilled form. 

Other indicators for you to keep track off

Kosher markings indicated that the food manufacturing process was carried out strictly in adherence to Hebrew dietary laws. However, if you find that the label marking is done as ‘Kosher- P, then the gelatin is obtained from a fish source, as a matter of fact. Parve or P is what the gelatin states. Again, while you shop for vegan chocolates or candy bars, you find the marking ‘Kosher-D, then which means that the chocolates were manufactured using dairy milk. Or, in the least consonance, the product was manufactured on the same machinery that produced dairy milk chocolates. 


So, next time you are going to shop for Jell-O’s, fruitellas, candy bars, or even chocolates, read the labels at the back of the main ingredient lists. You must also make a note of the aforestated markings so that you do not consume a product that is not plant-based even by default. 

Info derived from: What is gelatin made of? | PETA

About Vvegano:

We are an online vegan store based out of India. We have personalized lifestyle products catering to people belonging to the present millennium.  You get nut butters, mock meats, plant-based sweets, dairy-free alternatives, groceries and wellness care products from our store. Do check out some of our outstanding collections right here:

  1. Plant-based milk-
  2. Nut butters-
  3. Chocolates-
  4. Plant-based butters-
  5. Dairy-free Curds-
  6. Vegan Paneer-
  7. Cheese-
  8. Mock meat collections-
  9. Sweets-
  10. Flours-

For more, log in to